Suche
Natalie Tips & Tricks by

6 reviews
4.17 stars

How To Enable & Disable Location Timeline In Google Maps

Do you want to keep track where you have been on your vacation or daily life? Then the timeline feature in Google Maps is the right tool for you. Once you did the respective changes in the app, the maps service will record in the background, where and how long you stay at a location. In this trick, we will show you how you can enable and disable the feature.

Create a timeline in Google Maps

In order to create a timeline, you have to enable the location service and location history. Then Google will automatically create a timeline according to your location, search inquiries and visited websites. You can also add certain places manually.

In the Google Maps app, tap the Menu icon at the top left. Then choose My Timeline.

If your Location History is disabled, you have to enable it in the settings first. Now enter a place that you want to add to your timeline, for instance, your work address or gym. Hit Save at the top right to add the location to your history.

The place will now appear in your timeline. Tap it to edit the entry, label or delete it.

You can disable the timeline feature by setting the location access for Google Maps to “While Using the App” in your iPhone Settings. Then the maps app will only access your location when you open the app.

Do you want to get the most out of the Maps app? Then recommend reading our article: 10 Features Of The iPhone Maps App That You Should Know.

Related Topics