How to Permanently Delete Photos from Your iPhone
You deleted a photo from your iPhone. But wait, is it really gone? iOS gives users the chance to save images deleted by mistake. So if you delete photos on iPhone they may not be gone completely. Here’s how to delete iPhone photos permanently.
How to delete a photo on iPhone
To delete an image on iPhone, go to your Photos app. Pick the image which you would like to delete and view it fully by tapping the thumbnail. Now hit the trash can symbol to delete the image. This will place it in a sort of limbo, as iOS 8 does not immediately remove all traces of the photo. If you have the Photo Stream enabled, the image will also be deleted from your other devices that are in sync with the current library.
How to permanently delete photos on iPhone
There’s a new default photo album on your iPhone and it’s called “Recently Deleted”. Within this special album (which itself cannot be deleted) you’ll find photos from the last 29 to 30 days of your usage, that have been deleted recently. To completely delete photos from iPhone, go to “Select” in the top right corner, then either “Delete All” or pick single or multiple images in this album by tapping them manually.
Did you know you can delete entire albums from iPhone? Learn how to delete albums on iPhone here.
Once they have been deleted from the “Recently Deleted” folder, they will be gone for good.