Suche
Natalie Tips & Tricks by

10 reviews
4.40 stars

How To Use The iPhone Restore Mode (Recovery mode)

restore_mode_iconIs your iPhone not working how it supposed to? Generally iPhones are seen as very reliable smartphones, but sometimes it occurs that a reset is necessary. Apple calls this Recovery or Restore mode. Read our following guide to learn why it is sometimes necessary to put your iPhone into Restore mode sometimes and how you can do it.

Are you looking for a guide to put your iPhone into DFU mode? Then read this article…

Using the Restore mode

According to the iPhone model that you are using, the activation of the Restore mode can differ slightly. If you have an iPhone 7, you will need to do it a bit differently, because it does not have a physical Home button anymore. The Home button has always been a fixed part of the key combination for the Restore mode.

Preparations

Open iTunes (the latest version, or update before!) and connect your iPhone by a Lightning USB chord with your computer.

Now turn off your iPhone. Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button and slide the “Power off” button to the right. Wait until the screen is pitch black and the small rotating circle disappears.

Activate Restore Mode on iPhone 7

The key combination for putting your iPhone 7 into the Restore mode is:

Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button on the right-hand side and the Volume down button simultaneously. The Volume down button is the lower one of the longish buttons on the left-hand side.

As soon as you see the Apple logo on the screen, you release the Sleep/Wake button, but keep holding the Volume down button.

Let go of the Volume down button as soon as “Connect with iTunes“  appears on the screen.

Your iPhone is now in Restore mode, if you did everything correctly.

If you see the Apple icon while doing the key combination, let your iPhone start normally. Then you can turn it off and try the key combination again. If you see a black screen, you accidentally put it into DFU mode. You can exit this mode as well. Read more…

iTunes will now inform you that it detected an iPhone in Recovery/Restore mode. Click “Restore” to delete everything from your iPhone and to install iOS again. If you have a backup, you can bring in the information after restoring.

Activate Restore mode on iPhone 6s and earlier

The key combination on earlier iPhones is similar to the iPhone 7:

Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button on the right-hand side and the Home button simultaneously.

As soon as you see the Apple icon on the screen, you release the Sleep/Wake button, but keep holding the Home down button.

Let go of the Home button as soon as “Connect with iTunes“  appears on the screen.

iTunes will now inform you that it detected an iPhone in Recovery/Restore mode. Click “Restore” to delete everything from your iPhone and to install iOS again. If you have a backup, you can bring in the information after restoring.

Exit Restore mode

If you have put your iPhone into Restore mode accidentally, you can exit it in two different ways:

  • Restart your iPhone
  • Wait 15 minutes until the Recovery mode closes automatically 

Reasons to restore the iPhone

The recovery mode should not be your first step, if something does not run properly on your iPhone. Before you take the step, you should try to reboot first. If an app does not respond and is frozen, try this little trick to force the restart. If these suggested solutions do not help, you should use the Restore mode.

Another possible reason can be a disabled iPhone, because you have typed in the wrong Passcode too many times or you have forgotten your Passcode.

The Recovery mode serves its purpose, if a restore with iTunes does not work anymore, if the screen shows only the Apple icon without a status bar, or if it shows “Connect with iTunes“ on the display.